Day 8

A Question a Day will you take the challenge?

Today’s Question?

What has made you doubt yourself?

Oh God this old chestnut, what female alive doesn’t have a list as long as her arm of all the faults she bears or mistakes she has made, and not meaning to be sexist, I am quite sure there are many men who would have the same amount of doubts and fears.

Why do we let ourselves believe the TV advertisements and the glossy magazines even though they are not real? We try to measure up our body image to these fictitious figures and we fail miserably on all counts, left weeping into our pillows in despair!

Take body image out of the equation, and we are left to measure up to the mega rich or the insanely popular idols and social media guru’s, or what about Mumpreneurs, teenagepreneurs, or overnight internet success stories?

What is often left; is a shadow of who were were supposed to be, and a backpack of burdens.

I doubt myself all the time, I sometimes even go through my day moment by moment to examine my own stupidity.

We become uncertain about making decisions and we doubt our ability to choose wisely, we have reservations and painful technicolor reminders of our past mistakes, our inner critic screams with supporting choirs, singing loudly the details of each time we failed, and so we sit on the fence and question our ability to even decide; we become sceptics of our own wisdom and a daunting question mark hangs over everything, nothing is black and white, everything is grey, and we swim in an ever spiralling pool of suck energy doubt, it feels like we are drowning.

And then we choose, we bite the bullet so to speak and make a decision, the moment after the fear has subsided is like the silent breaking dawn after a severe tropical cyclone.

Oh how we are relieved, it’s too late now, we have made a decision, good, bad or indifferent, we will need to live with the consequences, and we carry happily on.

It would have been much easier if we had made the decision sooner, especially if we were tarrying over an inconsequential thing.

Don’t get me wrong,  I think we should take the time to consider all things wisely, but experience has shown me, that too often, we become overly anxious and stress unnecessarily over things that are totally out of our control.

Everything makes me doubt myself, but I choose to do it scared anyway, I choose to make myself look stupid rather than hide away in fear, I choose to get up and put myself out there, rather than wondering “what would have happened if?”  and I will take doubt and put it in my backpack as a reminder to slow down and consider all my options so that I can minimise my regret.

Is there a single thing that has made you doubt yourself or like me, is there a daily barrage of negativity to step over before you get to the front door of each day?

image-17-12-2016-at-9-31-am

 

Leave a Reply

